Dance at Grandpa’s

1309727-_uy200_One of my all-time favorite series of books is the Little House series by Laura Ingalls Wilder. Because of those remarkable stories of American pioneer life, I grew up longing for nothing less than a little house on a happy farm filled with people I love. And I always held a great desire to someday churn my own butter! I’ve been waiting for my girls to be old enough to enjoy those dear books as well, but before they were I stumbled across this beautiful set of stories that are perfectly adapted from the classic novels for a younger audience. They’re called My First Little House Books, and the stories are just the right length and level of difficulty for young pre-readers to enjoy hearing aloud, or for young readers to enjoy reading all by themselves. The wonderful sweetness of the original tales comes through in this adaptation beautifully, and my daughters have thoroughly enjoyed every one we’ve been able to locate thus far.

Dance at Grandpa’s was the first of the books that I purchased, and it tells the story of a winter time party held at Grandpa and Grandma’s house in the Big Woods. Neighbors gather for a delicious meal, music, and dancing, and the little Ingalls girls enjoy playing with other children who they don’t get to see very often. The book is simple, sweet, and a delight to read.

Illustrator Renee Graef provided lovely, full-color artwork for the books that imitates the well-known style of Garth Williams in a charming way, providing even more connection between the original novels and these delightful picture books. I’m so thrilled to be able to share with my children such wonderful stories from my own childhood in a way they can fully appreciate while not quite ready for the full chapter books. I’m sure your family will enjoy them too!

Leave a Reply

