Caps For Sale

61YmUX-JGlL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_I truly hope that this next book is not new to any of you, only because that would mean you and your children haven’t been enjoying it as long as you could have. Esphyr Slobodkina’s Caps For Sale has been a favorite of mine since childhood. I can hear my mother’s voice reading it to me. It’s also been a big hit with my daughters since before they were two years old, and it’s a favorite of my son’s now too.

A cap peddler begins his day the same way he always does, little knowing that in the hours to come he’ll have to deal with the theft of all his inventory and the problem of getting it back from monkeys, of all things!

The very first time I read this charming book to my daughters I made up motions and goofy voices to go with every part. They collapsed into giggles that night and we’ve used those motions and silly voices every time we’ve read this book since. Now their little brother joins in on balancing his stack of caps oh so carefully on his head, peering around the tree to find the missing ones, and shaking his tiny fists angrily at the monkeys who’ve turned into thieves.

If this book isn’t already on your shelf, please go get it now! It’s a fun, silly book that may very well become a family tradition for you as it is now for us. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

